Front end

Using reference photos I added wire and plastic card to the front undercarriage leg to suggest a bit more detail. Filling was necessary to blend some of the parts together and a light coat of white primer sprayed over. That’s as much detailing I’m going to do until I fit the wheels.

Most of my time has been spent on the windshield and visor. The visor was broken when the kit arrived but the fit was really poor anyway. The windshield isn’t very accurate and is far too raked. I’ve been experimenting with scratch building new clear parts. The results look promising, but there’s an awful lot of fiddling and fettling to do. I had a job to find any reference photos for the ‘cover’ under the visor. There’s nothing in the kit so there’s just a void into the nose. I eventually found some at the excellent Concorde-Photos site. Took some searching but found enough to give me some idea of how it should look. That’s what I’m doing now, trying to fit some plastic card into the nose to seal off that void. As I’m using thin clear plastic that area will be quite visible, so it will be worth the effort.


This is the plastic card cover I’ve fashioned and a clear plastic screen:

I’ve tacked the fuselage halves together at the front and fixed the cockpit in place. I didn’t do much to the cockpit as it’s so dark in there that any detail will be hard to see. The black overspray is from inside the nose. My plan is (once the cover has been painted), to fix the windshield at the top and wherever else it makes contact with cyano and then to trim, fill and sand the top to blend in with the fuselage. Any clouding caused should (I hope) be covered when I mask up the frame.
I’ve assembled some of the engine too:


I used poly-weld as there were a few gaps, but not too bad compared to the rest. I haven’t fixed the end pieces yet.

Leave a comment